Nant Gwrtheyrn Trust Annual Meeting Saturday 23 July 2022 Via Zoom Taking Part Huw Jones (Chairman), Menna Jones, Gwenda Griffith, Garffield Lewis, Councillor Jina Gwyrfai, Dorothi Clowes, Gwyn Jones, Mair Saunders, Jim O'Rourke, Jo Iwan, Rhiannon Ceiri, Deio Jones, Phyllis M. Ellis.

Apologies. Martyn Croydon, Jeff Williams Jones (joined later)

- 1. Everyone was welcomed by the Chairman, Huw Jones.
- 2. Minutes. The minutes of the Annual Meeting held on 24 July 2021 were accepted as correct.
- 3. Matters Arising. No issue arose from the minutes.
- 4. The Chairman's report for 2021. He referred to the great loss suffered by the Nant by the death of its founder Carl Clowes. His vision was responsible for establishing the Nant and there had been many tributes to him in the media. There will be a special meeting to commemorate him in the Learners' Tent (Maes D) on the Maes at the National Eisteddfod.

Due to Covid restrictions the centre was closed but we managed to provide online lessons and reopened in mid-April but under partial restrictions. Through the tireless work of Mair Saunders, the chief executive and a small team of staff we managed to protect the site, carry out maintenance work, and keep in touch with the learners through the Nant website. A number of the houses were upgraded and an awning was added outside the Neuadd. The original Llithfaen surgery was rebuilt on the site and opened by Dr. Eilir Hughes in June.

- 5. 2021 accounts. We managed to turn the 2020 loss into a profit this year. This meant that the company was able to repay the loan from the Linbury Trust. A copy of the accounts will be available to any member requesting them by contacting the chief executive. 34 people are currently employed.
- 6. Retirement of Trustees. Clive Wolfendale, the Treasurer had resigned and was thanked for his service for many years. Due to pressure of work Myrddin ap Dafydd also wished to retire from being a trustee. The terms of Jo Iwan, Ann Hughes and Phyllis Ellis were expiring and they were all re-elected for a further term. Menna Jones wished to resign as Vice Chair, due to a possible conflict of interest, but was willing to continue as a Trustee
- 7. Election of New Trustees. Garffild Lloyd Lewis, Rhiannon Ceiri and Martyn Croydon were confirmed as new trustees.
- 8. Change to Articles of Association

The proposal to change the Company's articles to allow the number of trustees to be increased to twelve was agreed.

9. Election of Officers. The following were appointed:

Chairman - Huw Jones

Vice Chairman – Garffild Lloyd Lewis

Treasurer - the board to discuss further

Secretary - Phyllis M. Ellis

- 10. Election of Accountants. The successor company to Cwmni Owain Bebb (Emyr Mortimer) was appointed for one year on condition that the company in its new form is able to demonstrate the ability to comply with the requirements for auditing. The situation with regard to the future would be re-examined.
- 11. The meeting was closed at 9.30