The old quarrying village of Nant Gwrtheyrn is mainly known today as a residential centre for Welsh learners. Since 1982 over 25,000 Welsh learners have taken advantage of the opportunity to learn Welsh in this unique location in the Llyn peninsula.
But recently one of the houses was opened as a “Quarryman’s Cottage” to show how the quarrymen and their families lived in 1910. According to Catherine Tudor Jones, Heritage officer at the Nant, “Our hope is the recreate the impression of an ordinary house in the early years of the twentieth century”.
Trem y Môr and Trem y Mynydd were built in 1878 as homes for the workers in the three granite quarries. These cottages were renowned as the best in the area with a close community of 200 people. The walls were made of local granite and North Wales slates were used for their roofs.
“The quarryman’s cottage is a significant development in which visitors will step back in time for a taste of everyday life in the quarrying village.”
If you have any interest in planning a visit for a group of Welsh learners to the Nant, contact Catherine on 01758 750334 or firstname.lastname@example.org.